Skip to content
ITSM ComparedITSM Compared

HEAD TO HEAD

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus or SysAid: which ITSM platform fits your team?

IN SHORT

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus documents self-service portal or catalog, AI triage and routing, CMDB and self-managed option where SysAid does not; SysAid documents AI agents and configuration tools for non-specialists where ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus does not. They match on 7 of 13 capabilities. Which matters more depends on your answers in the finder.

By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.

How do ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and SysAid compare capability by capability?

CapabilityManageEngine ServiceDesk PlusSysAidDiffers
Free plan or trialDocumented

Free edition for 2 technicians.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Free trial with all features, no credit card.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Same
Published priceDocumented

From $13, $27 and $67 per technician a month.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Professional $89 per agent a month.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Same
Self-service portal or catalogDocumented

Service catalog on Standard.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Service catalog listed; portal details not described.

Source: SysAid homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
AI triage and routingDocumented

Predictive triage, routing and assignment.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Automations for assignment and categorisation built with the AI Automations Builder.

Source: SysAid blog: AI automations for ITSM (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
AI agentsPartly

Zia virtual agent; no autonomous resolution claim.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Pre-built AI agents on both plans.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Configuration tools for non-specialistsPartly

Reusable workflow approvals (September 2026); a builder for non-specialists is not described.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus release notes · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

AI Automations Builder and AI Agent Builder.

Source: SysAid blog: AI automations for ITSM (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Departments beyond ITDocumented

Department instances for HR, facilities, finance and legal.

Source: ServiceDesk Plus enterprise service management · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Service spaces for HR, finance, facilities and legal.

Source: SysAid enterprise service management · Read 11 Oct 2026

Same
Incident managementDocumented

Certified practice.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

On both plans.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Problem managementDocumented

Add-on on Standard; included in Enterprise.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

On both plans.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Change managementDocumented

Add-on on Standard; included in Enterprise.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

On both plans.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
CMDBDocumented

Add-on on Professional; included in Enterprise.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Asset management; CMDB depth not documented.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
IT asset managementDocumented

From Professional.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

250 managed assets on Professional.

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-managed optionDocumented

Cloud or on-premises.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources

Deployment model not stated.

Differs

Which rollout milestones does each put on the entry plan?

  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Entry plan; automate: Plan not stated; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Higher plan or add-onTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

SysAid

SysAid rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Plan not stated; automate: Entry plan; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Entry planTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus has 3 milestones on its entry plan; SysAid has 4.

What do ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and SysAid cost?

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

PlanPrice
Free$0
StandardFrom $13 per technician/month
ProfessionalFrom $27 per technician/month
EnterpriseFrom $67 per technician/month

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

SysAid

PlanPrice
Professional$89 per agent/month
EnterpriseNot published
TrialFree trial

Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

When does ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus fit, and when SysAid?

Consider ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus if

Teams that need ITIL breadth at a published price, in the cloud or on-premises.

Certified ITIL breadth with every edition and add-on price published.

Watch for: Problem, change and CMDB arrive as paid add-ons or the top edition, so the setup grows in pieces.

Consider SysAid if

Mid-market desks that want to build automations and AI agents by describing them in plain language.

Plain-language builders for automations and AI agents lighten the admin load.

Watch for: Professional is quoted through sales at $89 per agent a month, and Enterprise starts at 20 agents.

Questions readers ask

Is ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus or SysAid better for a mid-market IT team?

Neither in general. ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus documents self-service portal or catalog, AI triage and routing, CMDB and self-managed option; SysAid documents AI agents and configuration tools for non-specialists. Answer the ITSM fit finder to see which matches your team.

Which is cheaper, ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus or SysAid?

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus starts at Free for 2 technicians; Standard from $13 per technician per month; SysAid starts at $89 per agent per month (Professional). Compare plans at your team size in the ITSM cost calculator.

Do ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and SysAid cover change management and a CMDB?

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: On Enterprise, or as add-ons. Problem and change are $1,195 a year each on Standard; CMDB is a $1,195 add-on on Professional and included in Enterprise. SysAid: Yes, on both plans. Request, incident, change and problem management and asset management are on Professional and Enterprise; CMDB depth is not documented.