PLATFORM PROFILE
Jira Service Management: ITSM platform profile for mid-market teams (2026)
Jira Service Management starts free for three agents and sits inside a Service Collection that reaches HR, facilities and finance, with change management on Premium.
IN SHORT
Jira Service Management documents 11 of 13 capabilities in our fact grid, partly documents 2, and 0 are not in our sources. Fits when: IT teams that already work in Jira and want a free starting tier. Its main limits: Change management and the virtual service agent need Premium at $51.42 per agent a month.
By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.
At a glance
- Company
- Atlassian
- Deployment
- Cloud, or Data Center (self-managed).
- Starting price
- Free for 3 agents; Standard $20 per agent per month
- Entry-plan milestones
- 3 of 6
- Fits when
- IT teams that already work in Jira and want a free starting tier
- Website
- Visit Jira Service Management site
What does Jira Service Management document?
- Free plan or trialDocumented
Free plan for up to 3 agents.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Published priceDocumented
Standard $20, Premium $51.42 per agent a month.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Self-service portal or catalogDocumented
Customer portal on every plan.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- AI triage and routingPartly
Rovo Agents; no automatic categorisation claim on the pages we read.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- AI agentsDocumented
Rovo Agents from Standard; virtual service agent on Premium.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Configuration tools for non-specialistsPartly
Forms, workflows and queues on every plan; a no-code builder is not described.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Departments beyond ITDocumented
Service Collection extends to HR, facilities, finance and legal.
Source: Atlassian: introduction to Service Collection · Read 11 Oct 2026
- Incident managementDocumented
Advanced incident management on Premium.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Problem managementDocumented
Advanced problem management on Premium.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Change managementDocumented
On Premium.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- CMDBDocumented
Asset and configuration management from Standard.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- IT asset managementDocumented
Assets from Standard.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Self-managed optionDocumented
Data Center, self-managed; end of life 28 March 2029.
Source: Atlassian blog: public sector next chapter (23 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026
What does Jira Service Management put on its entry plan?
- On the entry plan
- On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
- Documented, plan not stated
- Not documented on the pages we read
- On the entry plan
- On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
- Documented, plan not stated
- Not documented on the pages we read
01 TRYOn the entry plan
Free plan for up to three agents.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
02 PRICEOn the entry plan
Free, then Standard at $20 per agent a month.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
03 INTAKEOn the entry plan
Portal, email, chat and forms on the Free plan.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
04 AUTOMATEOn a higher plan or as a paid add-on
Rovo Agents from Standard; virtual service agent on Premium.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
05 EXTENDDocumented, plan not stated
Service Collection extends service management to HR, facilities, finance and legal; the plan is not stated.
Source: Atlassian: introduction to Service Collection · Read 11 Oct 2026
06 GOVERNOn a higher plan or as a paid add-on
Assets from Standard; change and advanced problem management on Premium.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
What do Jira Service Management's plans cost?
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Up to 3 agents; portal, email, chat, forms, workflows, queues, knowledge base, alerts and on-call |
| Standard | $20 per agent/month | Rovo Agents, asset and configuration management, 250 Rovo credits |
| Premium | $51.42 per agent/month | Advanced assets, virtual service agent, advanced incident and problem management, change management, deployment gating with CI/CD tools |
| Enterprise | Not published | Custom, billed annually |
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
List prices as published on the date shown. Taxes, discounts and negotiated terms are not included.
What else do Jira Service Management's pages say?
Packaging: Sold inside Atlassian's Service Collection plans, which also include Customer Service Management and Assets.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
Practices by plan: Change management, advanced incident and problem management and the virtual service agent are Premium features; asset and configuration management start on Standard.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free plan: Customer portal, email and chat channels, forms, workflows, queues, an embedded knowledge base, alerts and on-call schedules.
Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
ITIL: The features page groups incidents into problems for root cause analysis and displays a PinkVERIFY logo; a Data Center option serves self-managed environments.
Source: Jira Service Management features · Read 27 Sep 2026
Analyst news: Atlassian said on 29 July 2026 that it was named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for IT Service Management Platforms.
Source: Atlassian blog: 2026 Gartner ITSM Magic Quadrant (29 Jul 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026
Beyond IT: Atlassian's Service Collection guide says it extends service management beyond IT to HR, facilities, finance, customer support, legal and marketing, with Jira Service Management as the core app.
Source: Atlassian: introduction to Service Collection · Read 11 Oct 2026
No vendor performance figure was collected for this page.
Where does Jira Service Management stand out, and where is it limited?
Strengths
- A free tier and public prices make it the easiest platform here to start on.
- Close ties to Jira for engineering teams, with deployment gating on Premium.
Limits
- Change management and the virtual service agent need Premium at $51.42 per agent a month.
- Atlassian gives 28 March 2029 as the Data Center end-of-life date, which matters to self-managed customers.
How does Jira Service Management compare with each alternative?
- Freshservice or Jira Service Management
- Halo or Jira Service Management
- Ivanti Neurons for ITSM or Jira Service Management
- Jira Service Management or monday service
- Jira Service Management or ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus
- Jira Service Management or ServiceNow ITSM
- Jira Service Management or SysAid
- Jira Service Management or Zendesk
- Migrating off Jira Service Management
- See Jira Service Management side by side with two others
Questions readers ask
How much does Jira Service Management cost?
Free for 3 agents; Standard $20 per agent per month. Free: $0; Standard: $20 per agent/month; Premium: $51.42 per agent/month; Enterprise: Not published. Prices as published on the date shown.
Does Jira Service Management include change management and a CMDB?
On Premium for change. Asset and configuration management start on Standard; change management and advanced incident and problem management are Premium features at $51.42 per agent a month.
When does Jira Service Management fit?
IT teams that already work in Jira and want a free starting tier. Run the ITSM fit finder with your own answers to see how its documented capabilities match your team.