Skip to content
ITSM ComparedITSM Compared

PLATFORM PROFILE

Zendesk: ITSM platform profile for mid-market teams (2026)

Zendesk brings AI agents and an action builder to employee service on every plan, without listed change, problem or CMDB.

IN SHORT

Zendesk documents 7 of 13 capabilities in our fact grid, partly documents 2, and 4 are not in our sources. Fits when: Teams already running Zendesk for customers that want employee service on the same platform. Its main limits: Change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed.

By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.

At a glance

Company
Zendesk
Deployment
Cloud (SaaS).
Starting price
$29 per agent per month (Suite Team, billed annually)
Entry-plan milestones
3 of 6
Fits when
Teams already running Zendesk for customers that want employee service on the same platform
Website
Visit Zendesk site

What does Zendesk document?

  • Free plan or trialDocumented

    14-day trial with Suite Professional features.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

  • Published priceDocumented

    Suite Team $29, Growth $59, Professional $99 per agent a month.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Self-service portal or catalogDocumented

    Employee portal and service catalog from Suite Growth.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • AI triage and routingDocumented

    Intent detection; Intelligent Triage on Enterprise.

    Source: Zendesk AI · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • AI agentsDocumented

    AI agents on every Employee Service plan.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Configuration tools for non-specialistsDocumented

    Action builder on every plan; admin copilot from Professional; sandbox on Enterprise.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Departments beyond ITPartly

    One platform for customer and employee service; HR-specific workflows not detailed.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Incident managementPartly

    Employee request ticketing; ITIL incident management is not named.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Problem managementNot in our sources

    Not listed on the pricing page.

  • Change managementNot in our sources

    Not listed on the pricing page.

  • CMDBNot in our sources

    Not listed on the pricing page.

  • IT asset managementDocumented

    IT asset management from Suite Growth.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Self-managed optionNot in our sources

    Not described on the pages we read.

What does Zendesk put on its entry plan?

  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read
Zendesk rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Higher plan or add-on; automate: Entry plan; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Not documentedTRYENTRYPRICEENTRYINTAKEUPPERAUTOMATEENTRYEXTENDPLAN?GOVERNNONE
  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read
  1. 01 TRYOn the entry plan

    14-day trial with Suite Professional features.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

  2. 02 PRICEOn the entry plan

    Suite Team is $29 per agent a month, paid yearly.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  3. 03 INTAKEOn a higher plan or as a paid add-on

    The self-service employee portal and service catalog start on Suite Growth.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  4. 04 AUTOMATEOn the entry plan

    AI agents and the action builder on Suite Team.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  5. 05 EXTENDDocumented, plan not stated

    One platform for customer and employee service; HR-specific workflows are not detailed.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  6. 06 GOVERNNot documented on the pages we read

    Change and problem management and a CMDB are not listed.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

A filled square means the vendor's own pages place that milestone on the entry plan. It shows packaging, not how well the feature works.

What do Zendesk's plans cost?

PlanPriceNotes
Suite Team$29 per agent/month, paid yearlyAI agents, knowledge base, action builder
Suite Growth$59 per agent/monthAdds IT asset management, service catalog, self-service employee portal, tasks and approvals, SLAs
Suite Professional$99 per agent/monthAdds skills-based routing, admin copilot, app builder
Suite Enterprise + CopilotNot publishedContact sales; Intelligent Triage, Auto Assist, approval workflows, sandbox
Add-on Copilot$50 per agent/monthAdd-on
Trial14 daysSuite Professional features, Copilot included

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

List prices as published on the date shown. Taxes, discounts and negotiated terms are not included.

What else do Zendesk's pages say?

  • Practices by plan: IT asset management and a service catalog start on Suite Growth; change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed on the Employee Service pricing page.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • AI: Zendesk AI detects intent and tone, and Zendesk offers "AI monitoring across 100% of interactions".

    Source: Zendesk AI · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • SaaS governance: On 15 June 2026 Zendesk said it acquired intellectual property from beams and hired its team, adding SaaS and AI tool visibility, governance and provisioning to Employee Service.

    Source: Zendesk newsroom: beams team joins (15 Jun 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Microsoft 365: On 2 June 2026 Zendesk said its Support Assistant for Microsoft 365 reached AppSource, letting employees raise and track requests from Teams, Outlook and Word.

    Source: Zendesk newsroom: Support Assistant for Microsoft 365 (2 Jun 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Integrations: Slack, Microsoft Teams and Workday are named on the Employee Service pricing page.

    Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

No vendor performance figure was collected for this page.

Where does Zendesk stand out, and where is it limited?

Strengths

  • AI agents and an action builder on every Employee Service plan.
  • Customer and employee service on one platform, with admin tooling such as a sandbox on Enterprise.

Limits

  • Change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed.
  • The employee portal and service catalog wait for Suite Growth.

How does Zendesk compare with each alternative?

Questions readers ask

How much does Zendesk cost?

$29 per agent per month (Suite Team, billed annually). Suite Team: $29 per agent/month, paid yearly; Suite Growth: $59 per agent/month; Suite Professional: $99 per agent/month; Suite Enterprise + Copilot: Not published; Add-on Copilot: $50 per agent/month; Trial: 14 days. Prices as published on the date shown.

Does Zendesk include change management and a CMDB?

Not listed. IT asset management starts on Suite Growth, but change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed on the Employee Service pricing page.

When does Zendesk fit?

Teams already running Zendesk for customers that want employee service on the same platform. Run the ITSM fit finder with your own answers to see how its documented capabilities match your team.