Skip to content
ITSM ComparedITSM Compared

HEAD TO HEAD

Halo (formerly HaloITSM) or Zendesk: which ITSM platform fits your team?

IN SHORT

Halo documents departments beyond IT, incident management, problem management, change management and CMDB where Zendesk does not; Zendesk documents configuration tools for non-specialists where Halo does not. They match on 7 of 13 capabilities. Which matters more depends on your answers in the finder.

By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.

How do Halo and Zendesk compare capability by capability?

CapabilityHaloZendeskDiffers
Free plan or trialDocumented

A trial is offered; 30 days with all modules on the 27 September read.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

14-day trial with Suite Professional features.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Same
Published priceDocumented

£69 per agent a month, UK list, annual; onboarding package required.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Suite Team $29, Growth $59, Professional $99 per agent a month.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-service portal or catalogDocumented

Employee portal included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Employee portal and service catalog from Suite Growth.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
AI triage and routingDocumented

AI triaging included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Intent detection; Intelligent Triage on Enterprise.

Source: Zendesk AI · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
AI agentsDocumented

AI agents; process agents auto-resolve known issues.

Source: Halo AI · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

AI agents on every Employee Service plan.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Configuration tools for non-specialistsNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Documented

Action builder on every plan; admin copilot from Professional; sandbox on Enterprise.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Departments beyond ITDocumented

HR service delivery, finance and legal, facilities included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Partly

One platform for customer and employee service; HR-specific workflows not detailed.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Incident managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Employee request ticketing; ITIL incident management is not named.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Problem managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources

Not listed on the pricing page.

Differs
Change managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources

Not listed on the pricing page.

Differs
CMDBDocumented

CMDB and asset discovery included.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Not in our sources

Not listed on the pricing page.

Differs
IT asset managementDocumented

Assets included.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

IT asset management from Suite Growth.

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-managed optionNot in our sources

On-premises is not mentioned on the pages we read.

Not in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Same

Which rollout milestones does each put on the entry plan?

  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read

Halo

Halo rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Entry plan; automate: Entry plan; extend: Entry plan; govern: Entry planTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

Zendesk

Zendesk rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Higher plan or add-on; automate: Entry plan; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Not documentedTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

Halo has 6 milestones on its entry plan; Zendesk has 3.

What do Halo and Zendesk cost?

Halo

PlanPrice
Single plan£69 per agent/month, billed annually (UK list price; £66 on 27 Sep 2026)
Halo Enterprise Package$1M a year, fixed
TrialOffered

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Zendesk

PlanPrice
Suite Team$29 per agent/month, paid yearly
Suite Growth$59 per agent/month
Suite Professional$99 per agent/month
Suite Enterprise + CopilotNot published
Add-on Copilot$50 per agent/month
Trial14 days

Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

When does Halo fit, and when Zendesk?

Consider Halo if

Teams that want every module, including ESM and CMDB, in one per-agent licence.

Every module, from change management to CMDB and ESM, in one published per-agent price.

Watch for: Everything is switched on in one licence, so there is more to scope before launch, and onboarding packages are required at a bespoke cost.

Consider Zendesk if

Teams already running Zendesk for customers that want employee service on the same platform.

AI agents and an action builder on every Employee Service plan.

Watch for: Change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed.

Questions readers ask

Is Halo or Zendesk better for a mid-market IT team?

Neither in general. Halo documents departments beyond IT, incident management, problem management, change management and CMDB; Zendesk documents configuration tools for non-specialists. Answer the ITSM fit finder to see which matches your team.

Which is cheaper, Halo or Zendesk?

Halo starts at £69 per agent per month (UK list, billed annually, 11 Oct 2026); Zendesk starts at $29 per agent per month (Suite Team, billed annually). Compare plans at your team size in the ITSM cost calculator.

Do Halo and Zendesk cover change management and a CMDB?

Halo: Yes. Incident, request, problem and change management, major incidents, assets, CMDB and asset discovery are included as standard. Zendesk: Not listed. IT asset management starts on Suite Growth, but change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed on the Employee Service pricing page.