Skip to content
ITSM ComparedITSM Compared

PLATFORM PROFILE

ServiceNow ITSM: ITSM platform profile for mid-market teams (2026)

ServiceNow ITSM documents the deepest CMDB and widest practice coverage here, sold in three quoted packages with change and problem management in Advanced [ServiceNow].

IN SHORT

ServiceNow ITSM documents 7 of 13 capabilities in our fact grid, partly documents 2, and 4 are not in our sources. Fits when: Large or fast-growing IT organisations that will fund implementation and a platform team. Its main limits: No public price or self-serve trial; every package is quoted.

By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.

At a glance

Company
ServiceNow
Deployment
Cloud (SaaS).
Starting price
Not published
Entry-plan milestones
0 of 6
Fits when
Large or fast-growing IT organisations that will fund implementation and a platform team
Website
Visit ServiceNow ITSM site

What does ServiceNow ITSM document?

What does ServiceNow ITSM put on its entry plan?

  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read
ServiceNow ITSM rollout runwaytry: Not documented; price: Not documented; intake: Plan not stated; automate: Plan not stated; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Higher plan or add-onTRYNONEPRICENONEINTAKEPLAN?AUTOMATEPLAN?EXTENDPLAN?GOVERNUPPER
  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read
  1. 01 TRYNot documented on the pages we read

    No self-serve trial on the pages we read.

    Source: ServiceNow IT Service Management · Read 27 Sep 2026

  2. 02 PRICENot documented on the pages we read

    No public ITSM price.

    Source: G2: Jira Service Management vs ServiceNow ITSM · Read 27 Sep 2026

  3. 03 INTAKEDocumented, plan not stated

    Omnichannel self-service through EmployeeWorks, portal, chat, voice, email, mobile, Teams and Slack.

    Source: ServiceNow IT Service Management · Read 27 Sep 2026

  4. 04 AUTOMATEDocumented, plan not stated

    Virtual Agent and Now Assist in Foundation; AI agents for ITSM in Prime.

    Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026

  5. 05 EXTENDDocumented, plan not stated

    EmployeeWorks self-service; ServiceNow's departmental products are not in our sources.

    Source: ServiceNow IT Service Management · Read 27 Sep 2026

  6. 06 GOVERNOn a higher plan or as a paid add-on

    Change and problem management in the Advanced package; asset management and CMDB in Foundation.

    Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026

A filled square means the vendor's own pages place that milestone on the entry plan. It shows packaging, not how well the feature works.

What do ServiceNow ITSM's plans cost?

PlanPriceNotes
FoundationNot publishedService catalog and request, incident management, asset management and CMDB, Virtual Agent, Now Assist
AdvancedNot publishedAdds major incident and on-call management, change and problem management, AI voice agents, process mining
PrimeNot publishedAdds an L1 service desk AI specialist and AI agents for ITSM

Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026

List prices as published on the date shown. Taxes, discounts and negotiated terms are not included.

What else do ServiceNow ITSM's pages say?

  • Practices: Incident, change, problem and service request management on one platform with a single CMDB.

    Source: ServiceNow IT Service Management · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • CMDB: Discovery across on-premises and cloud, Service Mapping of relationships between IT components and business services, certified Service Graph Connectors and continuous data-accuracy checks.

    Source: ServiceNow Configuration Management Database · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • AI: "Autonomous AI specialists" for routine requests such as password resets, access provisioning and VPN troubleshooting, Now Assist recommendations, and an AI Agent Orchestrator that coordinates teams of AI agents.

    Source: ServiceNow AI agents · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Self-service: Self-service across EmployeeWorks, voice, chat, portal, Teams, Slack, email and mobile.

    Source: ServiceNow IT Service Management · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Acquisition: ServiceNow completed its purchase of Armis, an asset visibility and cyber risk company, on 20 April 2026 "for approximately $7.75 billion in cash".

    Source: ServiceNow newsroom: Armis acquisition completed (20 Apr 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

  • Packages: Three packages sold by custom quote: ITSM Foundation, ITSM Advanced and ITSM Prime. Change and problem management are in Advanced; asset management and CMDB are in Foundation.

    Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026

No vendor performance figure was collected for this page.

Where does ServiceNow ITSM stand out, and where is it limited?

Strengths

  • The widest ITIL practice coverage and the deepest CMDB in this set [ServiceNow].
  • Documented AI agents with an orchestrator across teams of agents.

Limits

  • No public price or self-serve trial; every package is quoted.
  • Change and problem management sit in the Advanced package, and G2 reviewers most often cite a steep learning curve and configuration complexity [G2].

How does ServiceNow ITSM compare with each alternative?

Questions readers ask

How much does ServiceNow ITSM cost?

Not published. Foundation: Not published; Advanced: Not published; Prime: Not published. Prices as published on the date shown.

Does ServiceNow ITSM include change management and a CMDB?

Yes, by package. Asset management and CMDB are in ITSM Foundation; change and problem management are in ITSM Advanced.

When does ServiceNow ITSM fit?

Large or fast-growing IT organisations that will fund implementation and a platform team. Run the ITSM fit finder with your own answers to see how its documented capabilities match your team.