HEAD TO HEAD
ServiceNow ITSM or SysAid: which ITSM platform fits your team?
IN SHORT
ServiceNow ITSM documents self-service portal or catalog and CMDB where SysAid does not; SysAid documents free plan or trial, published price, configuration tools for non-specialists and departments beyond IT where ServiceNow ITSM does not. They match on 7 of 13 capabilities. Which matters more depends on your answers in the finder. [ServiceNow] [G2]
By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.
How do ServiceNow ITSM and SysAid compare capability by capability?
| Capability | ServiceNow ITSM | SysAid | Differs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan or trial | Not in our sources Not described on the pages we read. | Documented Free trial with all features, no credit card. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Differs [ServiceNow] [G2] |
| Published price | Not in our sources Three packages, all by custom quote. Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Professional $89 per agent a month. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Differs [ServiceNow] [G2] |
| Self-service portal or catalog | Documented Service catalog in Foundation; omnichannel self-service. Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partly Service catalog listed; portal details not described. Source: SysAid homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Differs [ServiceNow] [G2] |
| AI triage and routing | Partly Now Assist recommendations; AI agents for ITSM in Prime. Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partly Automations for assignment and categorisation built with the AI Automations Builder. Source: SysAid blog: AI automations for ITSM (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| AI agents | Documented Autonomous AI specialists; AI Agent Orchestrator. Source: ServiceNow AI agents · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Pre-built AI agents on both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Configuration tools for non-specialists | Not in our sources G2 reviewers most often cite configuration complexity [G2]. Source: G2: ServiceNow IT Service Management reviews · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented AI Automations Builder and AI Agent Builder. Source: SysAid blog: AI automations for ITSM (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Differs [ServiceNow] [G2] |
| Departments beyond IT | Partly EmployeeWorks self-service; departmental products are not in our sources. Source: ServiceNow IT Service Management · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Service spaces for HR, finance, facilities and legal. Source: SysAid enterprise service management · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Differs [ServiceNow] [G2] |
| Incident management | Documented In Foundation. Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented On both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Problem management | Documented In Advanced. Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented On both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Change management | Documented In Advanced. Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented On both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| CMDB | Documented In Foundation; Discovery and Service Mapping. Source: ServiceNow Configuration Management Database · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partly Asset management; CMDB depth not documented. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Differs [ServiceNow] [G2] |
| IT asset management | Documented Asset management in Foundation. Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented 250 managed assets on Professional. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Self-managed option | Not in our sources Not described on the pages we read. | Not in our sources Deployment model not stated. | Same |
Which rollout milestones does each put on the entry plan?
- On the entry plan
- On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
- Documented, plan not stated
- Not documented on the pages we read
ServiceNow ITSM
SysAid
ServiceNow ITSM has 0 milestones on its entry plan; SysAid has 4.
What do ServiceNow ITSM and SysAid cost?
ServiceNow ITSM
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Foundation | Not published |
| Advanced | Not published |
| Prime | Not published |
Source: ServiceNow ITSM packages · Read 11 Oct 2026
SysAid
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Professional | $89 per agent/month |
| Enterprise | Not published |
| Trial | Free trial |
Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
When does ServiceNow ITSM fit, and when SysAid?
Consider ServiceNow ITSM if
Large or fast-growing IT organisations that will fund implementation and a platform team.
The widest ITIL practice coverage and the deepest CMDB in this set [ServiceNow].
Watch for: No public price or self-serve trial; every package is quoted.
Consider SysAid if
Mid-market desks that want to build automations and AI agents by describing them in plain language.
Plain-language builders for automations and AI agents lighten the admin load.
Watch for: Professional is quoted through sales at $89 per agent a month, and Enterprise starts at 20 agents.
Questions readers ask
Is ServiceNow ITSM or SysAid better for a mid-market IT team?
Neither in general. ServiceNow ITSM documents self-service portal or catalog and CMDB; SysAid documents free plan or trial, published price, configuration tools for non-specialists and departments beyond IT. Answer the ITSM fit finder to see which matches your team. [ServiceNow] [G2]
Which is cheaper, ServiceNow ITSM or SysAid?
ServiceNow ITSM does not publish a price; SysAid starts at $89 per agent per month (Professional). Compare plans at your team size in the ITSM cost calculator. [ServiceNow] [G2]
Do ServiceNow ITSM and SysAid cover change management and a CMDB?
ServiceNow ITSM: Yes, by package. Asset management and CMDB are in ITSM Foundation; change and problem management are in ITSM Advanced. SysAid: Yes, on both plans. Request, incident, change and problem management and asset management are on Professional and Enterprise; CMDB depth is not documented.