HEAD TO HEAD
SysAid or Zendesk: which ITSM platform fits your team?
IN SHORT
SysAid documents departments beyond IT, incident management, problem management and change management where Zendesk does not; Zendesk documents self-service portal or catalog and AI triage and routing where SysAid does not. They match on 6 of 13 capabilities. Which matters more depends on your answers in the finder.
By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.
How do SysAid and Zendesk compare capability by capability?
| Capability | SysAid | Zendesk | Differs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan or trial | Documented Free trial with all features, no credit card. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented 14-day trial with Suite Professional features. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Same |
| Published price | Documented Professional $89 per agent a month. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Suite Team $29, Growth $59, Professional $99 per agent a month. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Self-service portal or catalog | Partly Service catalog listed; portal details not described. Source: SysAid homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Employee portal and service catalog from Suite Growth. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Differs |
| AI triage and routing | Partly Automations for assignment and categorisation built with the AI Automations Builder. Source: SysAid blog: AI automations for ITSM (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Intent detection; Intelligent Triage on Enterprise. Source: Zendesk AI · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Differs |
| AI agents | Documented Pre-built AI agents on both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented AI agents on every Employee Service plan. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Configuration tools for non-specialists | Documented AI Automations Builder and AI Agent Builder. Source: SysAid blog: AI automations for ITSM (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Action builder on every plan; admin copilot from Professional; sandbox on Enterprise. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Departments beyond IT | Documented Service spaces for HR, finance, facilities and legal. Source: SysAid enterprise service management · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partly One platform for customer and employee service; HR-specific workflows not detailed. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Differs |
| Incident management | Documented On both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partly Employee request ticketing; ITIL incident management is not named. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Differs |
| Problem management | Documented On both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Not listed on the pricing page. | Differs |
| Change management | Documented On both plans. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Not listed on the pricing page. | Differs |
| CMDB | Partly Asset management; CMDB depth not documented. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Not listed on the pricing page. | Differs |
| IT asset management | Documented 250 managed assets on Professional. Source: SysAid pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented IT asset management from Suite Growth. Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Same |
| Self-managed option | Not in our sources Deployment model not stated. | Not in our sources Not described on the pages we read. | Same |
Which rollout milestones does each put on the entry plan?
- On the entry plan
- On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
- Documented, plan not stated
- Not documented on the pages we read
SysAid
Zendesk
SysAid has 4 milestones on its entry plan; Zendesk has 3.
What do SysAid and Zendesk cost?
SysAid
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Professional | $89 per agent/month |
| Enterprise | Not published |
| Trial | Free trial |
Source: SysAid pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Zendesk
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Suite Team | $29 per agent/month, paid yearly |
| Suite Growth | $59 per agent/month |
| Suite Professional | $99 per agent/month |
| Suite Enterprise + Copilot | Not published |
| Add-on Copilot | $50 per agent/month |
| Trial | 14 days |
Source: Zendesk Employee Service pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
When does SysAid fit, and when Zendesk?
Consider SysAid if
Mid-market desks that want to build automations and AI agents by describing them in plain language.
Plain-language builders for automations and AI agents lighten the admin load.
Watch for: Professional is quoted through sales at $89 per agent a month, and Enterprise starts at 20 agents.
Consider Zendesk if
Teams already running Zendesk for customers that want employee service on the same platform.
AI agents and an action builder on every Employee Service plan.
Watch for: Change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed.
Questions readers ask
Is SysAid or Zendesk better for a mid-market IT team?
Neither in general. SysAid documents departments beyond IT, incident management, problem management and change management; Zendesk documents self-service portal or catalog and AI triage and routing. Answer the ITSM fit finder to see which matches your team.
Which is cheaper, SysAid or Zendesk?
SysAid starts at $89 per agent per month (Professional); Zendesk starts at $29 per agent per month (Suite Team, billed annually). Compare plans at your team size in the ITSM cost calculator.
Do SysAid and Zendesk cover change management and a CMDB?
SysAid: Yes, on both plans. Request, incident, change and problem management and asset management are on Professional and Enterprise; CMDB depth is not documented. Zendesk: Not listed. IT asset management starts on Suite Growth, but change management, problem management and a CMDB are not listed on the Employee Service pricing page.