Skip to content
ITSM ComparedITSM Compared

HEAD TO HEAD

Halo (formerly HaloITSM) or Jira Service Management: which ITSM platform fits your team?

IN SHORT

Halo documents AI triage and routing where Jira Service Management does not; Jira Service Management documents self-managed option where Halo does not. They match on 10 of 13 capabilities. Which matters more depends on your answers in the finder.

By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.

How do Halo and Jira Service Management compare capability by capability?

CapabilityHaloJira Service ManagementDiffers
Free plan or trialDocumented

A trial is offered; 30 days with all modules on the 27 September read.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Free plan for up to 3 agents.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Published priceDocumented

£69 per agent a month, UK list, annual; onboarding package required.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Standard $20, Premium $51.42 per agent a month.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-service portal or catalogDocumented

Employee portal included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Customer portal on every plan.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
AI triage and routingDocumented

AI triaging included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Partly

Rovo Agents; no automatic categorisation claim on the pages we read.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
AI agentsDocumented

AI agents; process agents auto-resolve known issues.

Source: Halo AI · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Rovo Agents from Standard; virtual service agent on Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Configuration tools for non-specialistsNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Partly

Forms, workflows and queues on every plan; a no-code builder is not described.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Departments beyond ITDocumented

HR service delivery, finance and legal, facilities included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Service Collection extends to HR, facilities, finance and legal.

Source: Atlassian: introduction to Service Collection · Read 11 Oct 2026

Same
Incident managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Advanced incident management on Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Problem managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Advanced problem management on Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Change managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

On Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
CMDBDocumented

CMDB and asset discovery included.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Asset and configuration management from Standard.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
IT asset managementDocumented

Assets included.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Assets from Standard.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-managed optionNot in our sources

On-premises is not mentioned on the pages we read.

Documented

Data Center, self-managed; end of life 28 March 2029.

Source: Atlassian blog: public sector next chapter (23 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs

Which rollout milestones does each put on the entry plan?

  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read

Halo

Halo rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Entry plan; automate: Entry plan; extend: Entry plan; govern: Entry planTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

Jira Service Management

Jira Service Management rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Entry plan; automate: Higher plan or add-on; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Higher plan or add-onTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

Halo has 6 milestones on its entry plan; Jira Service Management has 3.

What do Halo and Jira Service Management cost?

Halo

PlanPrice
Single plan£69 per agent/month, billed annually (UK list price; £66 on 27 Sep 2026)
Halo Enterprise Package$1M a year, fixed
TrialOffered

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Jira Service Management

PlanPrice
Free$0
Standard$20 per agent/month
Premium$51.42 per agent/month
EnterpriseNot published

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

When does Halo fit, and when Jira Service Management?

Consider Halo if

Teams that want every module, including ESM and CMDB, in one per-agent licence.

Every module, from change management to CMDB and ESM, in one published per-agent price.

Watch for: Everything is switched on in one licence, so there is more to scope before launch, and onboarding packages are required at a bespoke cost.

Consider Jira Service Management if

IT teams that already work in Jira and want a free starting tier.

A free tier and public prices make it the easiest platform here to start on.

Watch for: Change management and the virtual service agent need Premium at $51.42 per agent a month.

Questions readers ask

Is Halo or Jira Service Management better for a mid-market IT team?

Neither in general. Halo documents AI triage and routing; Jira Service Management documents self-managed option. Answer the ITSM fit finder to see which matches your team.

Which is cheaper, Halo or Jira Service Management?

Halo starts at £69 per agent per month (UK list, billed annually, 11 Oct 2026); Jira Service Management starts at Free for 3 agents; Standard $20 per agent per month. Compare plans at your team size in the ITSM cost calculator.

Do Halo and Jira Service Management cover change management and a CMDB?

Halo: Yes. Incident, request, problem and change management, major incidents, assets, CMDB and asset discovery are included as standard. Jira Service Management: On Premium for change. Asset and configuration management start on Standard; change management and advanced incident and problem management are Premium features at $51.42 per agent a month.