Skip to content
ITSM ComparedITSM Compared

HEAD TO HEAD

Freshservice or Jira Service Management: which ITSM platform fits your team?

IN SHORT

Freshservice documents nothing that Jira Service Management lacks where Jira Service Management does not; Jira Service Management documents self-managed option where Freshservice does not. They match on 12 of 13 capabilities. Which matters more depends on your answers in the finder.

By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.

How do Freshservice and Jira Service Management compare capability by capability?

CapabilityFreshserviceJira Service ManagementDiffers
Free plan or trialDocumented

14-day trial with all features.

Source: Freshservice pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Free plan for up to 3 agents.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Published priceDocumented

Starter $19, Growth $49, Pro $99 per agent a month, annual.

Source: Freshservice pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Standard $20, Premium $51.42 per agent a month.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-service portal or catalogDocumented

Service catalog and SLA management from Growth.

Source: Freshservice pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Customer portal on every plan.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
AI triage and routingPartly

Freddy AI routes issues to the right agent, described in a general service context.

Source: Freshworks Freddy AI · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Rovo Agents; no automatic categorisation claim on the pages we read.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
AI agentsDocumented

Freddy AI Agent Studio for building AI agents.

Source: Freshservice product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Rovo Agents from Standard; virtual service agent on Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Configuration tools for non-specialistsPartly

Agent Studio for agents; workflow configuration for non-specialists is not described.

Source: Freshservice product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Forms, workflows and queues on every plan; a no-code builder is not described.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Departments beyond ITDocumented

Freshservice for Business Teams: HR, finance, facilities, legal.

Source: Freshservice for Business Teams · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Service Collection extends to HR, facilities, finance and legal.

Source: Atlassian: introduction to Service Collection · Read 11 Oct 2026

Same
Incident managementDocumented

Incident management from Starter.

Source: Freshservice pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Advanced incident management on Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Problem managementDocumented

On Pro and Enterprise.

Source: Freshservice pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Advanced problem management on Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Change managementDocumented

On Pro and Enterprise.

Source: Freshservice pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

On Premium.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
CMDBDocumented

CMDB built by agentless discovery.

Source: Freshservice IT asset management · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Asset and configuration management from Standard.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
IT asset managementDocumented

IT asset management with agentless discovery; asset units in packs of 500.

Source: Freshservice IT asset management · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Assets from Standard.

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-managed optionNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Documented

Data Center, self-managed; end of life 28 March 2029.

Source: Atlassian blog: public sector next chapter (23 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs

Which rollout milestones does each put on the entry plan?

  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read

Freshservice

Freshservice rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Higher plan or add-on; automate: Higher plan or add-on; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Higher plan or add-onTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

Jira Service Management

Jira Service Management rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Entry plan; automate: Higher plan or add-on; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Higher plan or add-onTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

Freshservice has 2 milestones on its entry plan; Jira Service Management has 3.

What do Freshservice and Jira Service Management cost?

Freshservice

PlanPrice
Starter$19 per agent/month, billed annually
Growth$49 per agent/month
Pro$99 per agent/month
EnterpriseNot published
Add-on Freddy AI Copilot$29 per agent/month
Trial14 days

Source: Freshservice pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Jira Service Management

PlanPrice
Free$0
Standard$20 per agent/month
Premium$51.42 per agent/month
EnterpriseNot published

Source: Jira Service Management pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

When does Freshservice fit, and when Jira Service Management?

Consider Freshservice if

IT teams that want certified ITIL practices and published prices, with a route for business teams later.

Certified ITIL practice coverage and a discovery-fed CMDB at published prices.

Watch for: Problem and change management need Pro at $99 per agent a month, and the Freddy AI Copilot is a $29 add-on.

Consider Jira Service Management if

IT teams that already work in Jira and want a free starting tier.

A free tier and public prices make it the easiest platform here to start on.

Watch for: Change management and the virtual service agent need Premium at $51.42 per agent a month.

Questions readers ask

Is Freshservice or Jira Service Management better for a mid-market IT team?

Neither in general. Freshservice documents nothing that Jira Service Management lacks; Jira Service Management documents self-managed option. Answer the ITSM fit finder to see which matches your team.

Which is cheaper, Freshservice or Jira Service Management?

Freshservice starts at $19 per agent per month (Starter, billed annually); Jira Service Management starts at Free for 3 agents; Standard $20 per agent per month. Compare plans at your team size in the ITSM cost calculator.

Do Freshservice and Jira Service Management cover change management and a CMDB?

Freshservice: Yes, on Pro and Enterprise. Problem, change and release management start on Pro at $99 per agent a month, and agentless discovery feeds a CMDB. Jira Service Management: On Premium for change. Asset and configuration management start on Standard; change management and advanced incident and problem management are Premium features at $51.42 per agent a month.