Skip to content
ITSM ComparedITSM Compared

HEAD TO HEAD

Halo (formerly HaloITSM) or ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: which ITSM platform fits your team?

IN SHORT

Halo documents AI agents where ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus does not; ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus documents self-managed option where Halo does not. They match on 10 of 13 capabilities. Which matters more depends on your answers in the finder.

By The Ticket Desk · ITSM Compared · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, pricing pages and G2 pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not test the products.

How do Halo and ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus compare capability by capability?

CapabilityHaloManageEngine ServiceDesk PlusDiffers
Free plan or trialDocumented

A trial is offered; 30 days with all modules on the 27 September read.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Free edition for 2 technicians.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Published priceDocumented

£69 per agent a month, UK list, annual; onboarding package required.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

From $13, $27 and $67 per technician a month.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-service portal or catalogDocumented

Employee portal included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Service catalog on Standard.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
AI triage and routingDocumented

AI triaging included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Predictive triage, routing and assignment.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
AI agentsDocumented

AI agents; process agents auto-resolve known issues.

Source: Halo AI · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Zia virtual agent; no autonomous resolution claim.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Configuration tools for non-specialistsNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Partly

Reusable workflow approvals (September 2026); a builder for non-specialists is not described.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus release notes · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs
Departments beyond ITDocumented

HR service delivery, finance and legal, facilities included as standard.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Department instances for HR, facilities, finance and legal.

Source: ServiceDesk Plus enterprise service management · Read 11 Oct 2026

Same
Incident managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Certified practice.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Problem managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Add-on on Standard; included in Enterprise.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Change managementDocumented

In the single licence.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

Add-on on Standard; included in Enterprise.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
CMDBDocumented

CMDB and asset discovery included.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Add-on on Professional; included in Enterprise.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
IT asset managementDocumented

Assets included.

Source: Halo pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Documented

From Professional.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Same
Self-managed optionNot in our sources

On-premises is not mentioned on the pages we read.

Documented

Cloud or on-premises.

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus product page · Read 27 Sep 2026

Differs

Which rollout milestones does each put on the entry plan?

  • On the entry plan
  • On a higher plan or as a paid add-on
  • Documented, plan not stated
  • Not documented on the pages we read

Halo

Halo rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Entry plan; automate: Entry plan; extend: Entry plan; govern: Entry planTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus rollout runwaytry: Entry plan; price: Entry plan; intake: Entry plan; automate: Plan not stated; extend: Plan not stated; govern: Higher plan or add-onTPIAEGT: try, P: price, I: intake, A: automate, E: extend, G: govern

Halo has 6 milestones on its entry plan; ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus has 3.

What do Halo and ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus cost?

Halo

PlanPrice
Single plan£69 per agent/month, billed annually (UK list price; £66 on 27 Sep 2026)
Halo Enterprise Package$1M a year, fixed
TrialOffered

Source: Halo pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

PlanPrice
Free$0
StandardFrom $13 per technician/month
ProfessionalFrom $27 per technician/month
EnterpriseFrom $67 per technician/month

Source: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

When does Halo fit, and when ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus?

Consider Halo if

Teams that want every module, including ESM and CMDB, in one per-agent licence.

Every module, from change management to CMDB and ESM, in one published per-agent price.

Watch for: Everything is switched on in one licence, so there is more to scope before launch, and onboarding packages are required at a bespoke cost.

Consider ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus if

Teams that need ITIL breadth at a published price, in the cloud or on-premises.

Certified ITIL breadth with every edition and add-on price published.

Watch for: Problem, change and CMDB arrive as paid add-ons or the top edition, so the setup grows in pieces.

Questions readers ask

Is Halo or ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus better for a mid-market IT team?

Neither in general. Halo documents AI agents; ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus documents self-managed option. Answer the ITSM fit finder to see which matches your team.

Which is cheaper, Halo or ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus?

Halo starts at £69 per agent per month (UK list, billed annually, 11 Oct 2026); ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus starts at Free for 2 technicians; Standard from $13 per technician per month. Compare plans at your team size in the ITSM cost calculator.

Do Halo and ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus cover change management and a CMDB?

Halo: Yes. Incident, request, problem and change management, major incidents, assets, CMDB and asset discovery are included as standard. ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus: On Enterprise, or as add-ons. Problem and change are $1,195 a year each on Standard; CMDB is a $1,195 add-on on Professional and included in Enterprise.